Weird: Twelve Incredible Tales

Compiled by Penny Matthews

Omnibus Books: Norwood Australia, 1990

By Anthony Holcroft: Silver

ISBN 186291060X

Wierd is a collection of twelve supernatural tales by New zealand and Australian authors. The anthology includes Anthony Holcroft’s “Silver”, which also appears in his story collections The Boy at the Door and The Night Bees.


Silver is a lost child of the fair-haired mountain folk, discovered and adopted by Sam and Bridget, while panning for gold on the sea coast. She is a wild creature with strange magical gifts — attracting fish simply by staring down at them through the water, and listening to the language of the trees as they sing to each other in the forest ...